2022 high school scholarship winners

Every year, the Friends Of Scotchman Peaks Wilderness puts on a scholarship contest for local high schools. The organization gives $250 to a student from each school who writes an outstanding essay about their experience in wilderness.  

I never would have thought that Montana’s wilderness would bring me joy like no other. It is to the mountains, the trees, and the skies of Montana that I give thanks for allowing me to create some of my best memories.

Hanna Benson of Troy High School

This year we received many well-written, exciting essays, and it was difficult to pick just one from each school — in fact, there were a few ties this year. These teenagers showed passion for wilderness and the outdoors, and we enjoyed reading through each one.  

Just when I was at the point of being too tired to continue any further, we heard it; the refreshing and tell-tale chirp, that a cow elk makes.

Jessica Lotze of Sandpoint High School

The full list of winners this year includes Jessica Lotze of Sandpoint High School; Adeline Roesler-Begalke and Hanna Benson of Troy High School; Sam Barnett, Caiya Yanick and Taylor Staley of Clark Fork High School; Taryn Thompson of Libby High School; Shane Gamber of Priest River Lamanna High School; Ryan Bucher of Thompson Falls High School and Vanessa Horner of Noxon High School.  

FSPW staff thank all students and schools who participated this year and congratulate the winners. They wish the graduating seniors luck as they continue their educational career.  

Scholarship winners Caiya, Taylor, and Sam at the Clark Fork High awards ceremony.

Share this Page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.